Posted in Uncategorized

Let Freedom Sing: Estonia’s Army of Voices Arrives In Redding

Adam Mankoski writes at anewscafe:

““Land of my Father, land that I love, I can’t abandon her. For her a hundred times, I shall give my life,” begins “Mu Isamaa On Minu Arm,” written by Estonian National Poet Lydia Koidula.

This passionate poem, created during Estonia’s Great Awakening, was first set to music in 1869 and performed that year for Estonia’s first Laulupidu, an annual gathering of 30,000 vocalists on one stage and one of the world’s largest amateur choral festivals.”

Read full article at anewscafe.com

Author:

I live in Germany.

2 thoughts on “Let Freedom Sing: Estonia’s Army of Voices Arrives In Redding

  1. A better translation of “mu isamaa on miu arm” :
    “My Fatherland is My Love,
    I shall never leave Him,” …

    fantastic and moving song. The movie “the singing revolution” is also very interesting

Leave a Reply

